History of Durham Regional Police
Search Now
Go to home page
ID    Code
  Durham Regional Police Services Board  
  Executive Search - Deputy Chief of Police: Position Posting and Job Descripton

  Monthly Meetings  |  Presentations to Regional Council  |  Board Policies  
  Reports from Chief  |  Becoming a Member  |  Committees  

Roger Anderson

Vice Chair
Allan Furlong






(Click on member to view profile)
  Contact Information

Mailing Address:
605 Rossland Rd. E. Box 911
Whitby, ON
L1N 0B8

Email: 2430@drps.ca

Making a Deputation

The guidelines for making a deputation can be found in the Board's Governance bylaw (04-2004).

Members of the public wishing to make a deputation to the Board shall advise the Board in writing providing an outline of the nature of the deputation at least seven days prior to the meeting.

All deputants at the meeting shall only be heard upon the consent of the Board.

Deputants shall be limited to five minutes for speaking at the Board, unless approval to extend the speaking time is obtained from the Chair.

If there is a group of people wishing to address the Board with respect to a particular position on a particular issue, then the Board may determine that the group shall be represented by one person or that the time limit shall be other than as stated above.

The Durham Regional Police Services Board (DRPSB) is the civilian body that governs the management of the Police Service. As mandated by the Ontario Police Services Act, the DRPSB consists of seven members, three appointed by the Province of Ontario and four chosen by Regional Council.

The Board ensures the delivery of adequate and effective policing by appointing members to the Service, working with the Chief in identifying objectives and priorities and by creating broad policies and an evaluated overall annual performance of the Service.

The DRPSB is a member of both the Ontario Association of Police Services Board www.oapsb.ca and the Canadian Association of Police Governance www.capg.ca
The Act requires that the Board consist of:
  • Head of Regional Council
    (or his or her designate)
    Roger Anderson, Regional Chair 
  • Two Members of Regional Council
    (appointed by resolution)
    John Henry
    Bill McLean
  • Person appointed by Council
    (who is neither a member of the council nor an employee of the municipality)
    Robert Fraser
  • Three persons appointed by the Lieutenant Governor in Council
    Allan Furlong
    Rose Rockbrune
    Randy Wilson

Site best viewed by IE6 or above, Netscape 7.2 or above. Site last updated on 22-Sep-2014 00:03 PST.
©2014 Durham Regional Police Service, Ontario, Canada.
All rights reserved.

Contact us: Emergency - 911
Non-Emergency - Local: (905) 579-1520 Toll Free: 1-888-579-1520